Celebrating 20 years of devolution

To mark 20 years of devolution, the Assembly Commission has carried out a number of interviews with those members who were first elected to the National Assembly for Wales in May 1999 and are still members today. Bridgend AM Carwyn Jones is one of the members who was successfully elected in 1999 and remains a member to date.

Other Assembly Members include David Melding, Ann Jones, Lord Dafydd Elis Thomas, Jane Hutt, Kirsty Williams, Elin Jones, Lynne Neagle and John Griffiths.

As part of the filming, the Bridgend AM was asked how was his first day all those years ago, about his achievements over the last 20 years, about how the Assembly has changed since those early days and whether he had any mementos or items for his first day that he still has now.

Mr Jones said “Devolution has been a journey of political maturity, a story of growing confidence and a firm determination to deliver for Wales. The 20th anniversary gives us the opportunity to look back at our greatest achievements; an economy transferred, schools and colleges rebuilt and leading the way on organ donation and recycling. Wales is a small confident nation now with a big voice of our own.

“It is good to see that devolution is now established not just in law, not just in fact but now in the hearts of the people of Wales.”